April 2015 – networth and expenses

Up until a few days ago April was looking like a solid month. I was up around 7k/8k. The sharp market decline in the last few days shrank that to almost zero.

  • brokerage accounts 165.5k (+34.5k)
  • mutual funds 25.8k (-35.4k)
  • cash 8.9k (+1.6k)
  • alternative investments 29.8k (-0.4k)
  • total 230.1k (+0.3k)

I opened another brokerage account and sold some mutual funds. For my personal networth goal I have to increase our networth to around 250k. I’m well on track to reach that. Lately I’m thinking about putting the excess money into a (virtual) savings account to fund maybe one or two years off of work. This is part of my 9 to 5 escape plan. I will blog more about this topic in the future. I’m still at the very beginning.

Monthly expenses

  • January 2.5k
  • February 2.7k
  • March 2.7k
  • April 3.2k

It would be really helpful, if we could further reduce our expenses, but unfortunately, the last few months were rather expensive. And April was no exception – quite contrary it was the most expensive month since May last year. Groceries were almost as expensive as in January and we bought lamps for 330 Euros. The Paleo diet is expensive, but I’m okay with that. Overall we are on track for 36k yearly expenses.

