March 2016 – net worth and expenses

March brought only little changes to our net worth. I lost around 400 Euros in the brokerage account, but our monthly savings still made it a green month (+ 900 Euros).

  • brokerage accounts 260.7k (-0.4k)
  • ETFs 5.3k (+0.9k)
  • cash 18.0k (+1.0k)
  • alternative investments 32.5k (-0.6k)
  • taxes -22.5k
  • total 294.0k (+0.9k)

Monthly Expenses

  • January 2.8k
  • February 2.6k
  • March 3.4k

March was an expensive month. I bought some computer stuff for 800 Euros and my wife a coffee machine for 100 Euros. If we subtract that, the month is around 2.5k (which is very good).

Escape 9 to 5

I was sick in the second half of March. Unfortunately this destroyed all momentum I had build up for my software project. I’m slowly building the momentum up again. Yesterday I made plans about the next steps and set milestones for the next three months. Also I used part of my commute time to program a little bit.

Goals 2016 Recap

One quarter of the year is over, let’s review my 2016 goals:

  • Yearly expenses below 36k – That is 9k for a quarter. Our first three months sum up to 8.8k. This looks great!
  • Change in work situation – I decided (a few days ago) to reduce my work time further. I have not spoken yet with my boss about it. So, keep the fingers crossed that all works well. I would like to use the additional spare time for my software project.
  • 100 Euro per month side hustle (in December) – At the moment: zero.
  • 24 blog posts – This is the 7th blog post in 2016. So I’m on track.

I’m behind on the investment front, but I’m still optimistic to make it a positive year.

