Goals 2016 – status report

I have achieved one goal for 2016, so let’s review them all:

Goals for 2016

  • Yearly expenses below 36.000 Euros (average of 3.000 Euros per month).
  • Change in work situation.
  • 100 Euro per month side hustle (project Escape 9 to 5) in December 2016.
  • 24 blog posts (average of 2 per month).

So far (3 months) our yearly expenses are below 36k. This looks good, but is not done yet.

From next month on I will be working only 3 days, having 2 extra days for my family and my side hustle. So this is a “check”.

Speaking of my side hustle, I really need these free days. Otherwise I have only 1 – 2 hours in the evening to work on my software project. And lately the progress has stalled. Currently I have 6 test users (with only one of them using the software actively). This is my major area for improvement.

The blog post goal is looking good, but like the yearly expenses it is only done at the end of the year.

A recent comment from reader niterainbow inspired my to add a fifth goal for 2016:

  • Spend 3 nights outdoors with my oldest kid.

It will be the first nights in a tent for her/him. I promised it for 2015 already, but didn’t do it. 2016 it has to happen!

