April 2016 – net worth and expenses

Towards the end of April I was slightly positive with my investment results (over the year), but stronger moves on the last two trading days pushed me again into red. What a contrast to 2015! So far it is a very tough year on the stock market.

When you are looking at the net worth you won’t see this trouble – it is at all time high. Our monthly savings of 1,500 Euros are enough to make our number climb. But from May on we will save less, because my income drops (like mentioned in my last post).

  • brokerage accounts 242.3k (-18.4k)
  • ETFs 6.0k (+0.7k)
  • cash 39.3k (+21.3k)
  • alternative investments 33.0k (+0.5k)
  • taxes -22.5k
  • total 298.1k (+4.1k)

I transfered 20k from brokerage to cash, this makes it a small gain of 1.6k for investments.

Monthly Expenses

  • January 2.8k
  • February 2.6k
  • March 3.4k
  • April 3.7k

April was a very expensive month. The most annoying expense was a 700 Euro car repair bill (we will change the workshop). Another 300 was from upgrading our Wifi equipment. I was fed up with the poor reception in our house.

Escape 9 to 5

I did not reach my goal for April. I wanted to build an initial version of a bigger feature. I made progress, but not enough. Still I have less than 10 users and only one active user! Initially I wanted to use June for marketing and increase the user count to 50. I might change my plans and try to increase my user base already in May.

