Goals 2016 – Three Quarter Report

My goals for 2016 were:

  • Yearly expenses below 36.000 Euros (average of 3.000 Euros per month).
  • Change in work situation.
  • 100 Euro per month side hustle (project Escape 9 to 5) in December 2016.
  • 24 blog posts (average of 2 per month).
  • Spend 3 nights outdoors with my oldest kid.

And I recently added:

  • Net worth end of 2016 – 360k Euros.

Our yearly expenses are running at 37.4k. This is slightly less than 3 months ago. It felt possible to reach, but then we bought Lego toys for over 400 Euros (around 40 kilos). We will see, what the future brings.

I changed my work agreement to 3 days a week. But I didn’t use my free days to my advantage (e. g. project Escape 9 to 5). At the moment I’m back to 4 days a week and I might be back full time in 2017. It is quite an amount for each day more/less. So, in order to reach financial independence by Summer 2020 I have to use all I can get.

I abandoned my ambitions to earn money with my side hustle (project Escape 9 to 5). Over the summer I had 2 free days each work and almost never worked on it. I still use my software often, but rarely do I program on it. At the moment I concentrate my energies on the stock market. I think there is the most potential. I will go back to my little software project when I’m FI.

24 blog posts: 12 posts are set (monthly net worth report) and if I post at least once in between I should be able to make it. But of all my goals it is the least important one.

I spent 2 nights outdoors (with my wife and all kids). So, while I did not reach 3 nights, I’m very happy that we camped two times! It was fun (and very wet the second time).

To reach my 360k net worth goal I have to add 4k each remaining month.

