My last free day – how did I spent it?

Today is my last free day. From next year on, I will go back to full-time work. This year I was working some months only 3 days a week and most months 4 days a week.

And today is my last free day (with at least a few unplanned hours) – how did I spent it? Inspired by a reader comment I started looking at my yearly income minus my yearly expenses. I will post more details about this in the beginning of 2017, when the final numbers for 2016 are in. But there were some interesting insights already: In the last three years (2014 – 2016) we would have covered all our expenses without my salary. So I could have already retired 😀

I earn around double what my wife earns, so I didn’t expect that. Also, 2015 was a spectacular year for us, so no surprise here. But it also worked in 2014. In 2015 and 2015 our non-salary income would have been enough to cover our expenses. So, theoretically, my wife could have retired as well.

But our current net worth (355k) is too low to really quit. My target number is 600k, which would give us 24k a year with a SWR of 4%. This is more or less our planned expenses in (full) retirement.

My wife (currently) does not want to retire, so the numbers look quite okay for me leaving the corporate world. I still have to convince my wife, though. This is by far the hardest part. My current plan involves a “sprint to the finish line”. Next year I go back to full-time employment. Earning more will lead to saving more. The “conservative plan” has a target retirement date of mid 2020 (we will have our 600k by then).

But I’m not sure if I can sustain working until then. I would rather quit in 2018 already. So, I try to generate an extra income of around 1k each month. With that I hope to convince my wife to let me retire earlier. I can do it!

