March 2017 – Net Worth and Expenses

During March I had the impression it would be a slow month (meaning: not much progress), but in the end it turned out 2.3 % gain.

  • brokerage accounts 302.8 (+3.5k)
  • ETFs 14.2k (+1.3k)
  • cash 19.7k (-3.7k)
  • alternative investments 39.7k (+5.9k)
  • taxes 0
  • total 382.3k (+8.2k) [+2.2%]

Like last month, if there are changes in “cash” and “alternative investments” I bought or sold some investments (similar to peer-to-peer lending).

Monthly Expenses

  • January 5.2k
  • February 2.5k
  • March 2.1k (Update: 2.5k)

I really tried to stay below 2.0k, but I didn’t make it. I had some purchases, that I delayed or didn’t make, but in the end I was about 130 Euros over my goal. Update: I forgot one expense (it was on credit card and the bill came on 5th of April). We are going on a cruise soon and I partially paid for the trip.

Quarterly Goals

Every quarter I set some goals (or more like a direction) for the upcoming quarter. In Q2 I would like to spend more time with my kids outdoor (in the forest or by bike). Another topic is “simplify” – I would like to get rid of some stuff. My wife already sorted out her clothes (a huge pile). I have a hard time to say good bye to still functional clothes. (Although my wife has sometimes a different opinion about what is still okay and what not.)

